Well, that was easy. Too easy, really.

I have been paid for something I wrote. That was one goal for 2008. I guess I’m supposed to be all excited now. How come I’m not?

Does this earn me the coveted title of Published Author? I really won’t feel like one until I get something published in a print magazine. I’m not sure I’d even feel like one then unless it happened regularly. Perhaps Published Author only applies to the writers of books. That goal is a bit lofty for me. I don’t think there is a book in my future.

Does this earn me the title of Real Paid Writer? I guess technically it does but I don’t see six dollars going very far toward paying the utility bill. Perhaps Real Paid Writers make so much money they don’t have to care about their utility bills. I might be better off being a Real Paid Hooker.

Still, this was a first step and can now be checked off my list. Once I’ve pulled this off a few dozen times maybe I’ll actually send something to a print magazine so I can start collecting rejection slips.

January – Get paid for writing something.
February – Get paid for writing something at least once a week.
March – Get paid for writing something at least twice a week.
April – Get paid for writing something at least three times a week.
March – Get paid more for writing something. Maybe Constant Content?
April – Send something to a print magazine while continuing to write regularly for AC.
May – Am I there yet? Probably not.

I think this plan needs work.